Amiloride
In brief
- Amiloride is generally a prescription-only medicine (POM) in the UK and most countries, but availability varies by country and some pharmacies or online suppliers may sell it without a prescription—check your local pharmacy and regulations before purchase.
- Amiloride is used for oedema, hypertension and in congestive heart failure; it is a potassium‑sparing diuretic that inhibits epithelial sodium channels (ENaC) in the distal tubule and collecting duct, reducing sodium reabsorption and limiting potassium loss.
- The usual adult dose is 5–10 mg daily (commonly 5 mg once daily); in congestive heart failure doses may be titrated up to 20 mg/day in divided doses; when combined with a thiazide, therapy often starts at 5 mg amiloride.
- Administered orally as tablets (most commonly 5 mg; some markets also supply 10 mg; combination tablets with thiazides are available).
- The diuretic effect usually begins within about 2–4 hours after an oral dose.
- The duration of action typically extends up to around 24 hours, which is why once‑daily dosing is common.
- Avoid excessive alcohol while taking amiloride; alcohol can increase dizziness, orthostatic hypotension and dehydration and may worsen electrolyte disturbances.
- The most common side effect is hyperkalaemia.
- Would you like to try amiloride without a prescription?
Basic Amiloride Information
- INN (International Nonproprietary Name): Amiloride.
- Brand Names Available In United Kingdom: Amiloride Hydrochloride; commonly supplied as 5 mg tablets in packs of 28 or 56; manufacturers include Mylan, Teva and Bristol.
- ATC Code: C03DB01 (Potassium‑sparing diuretics, plain).
- Forms & Dosages: Tablets are the most common form, typically 5 mg; 10 mg tablets are available in some markets; combination products with thiazide diuretics are marketed for hypertension/heart failure.
- Manufacturers In United Kingdom: Mylan, Teva, Bristol Labs (market presence for Amiloride Hydrochloride 5 mg tablets).
- Registration Status In United Kingdom: Listed with the MHRA as Amiloride Hydrochloride and classified as a prescription medicine (POM).
- OTC / Rx Classification: Prescription Only Medicine (POM) in the UK; prescription only in comparable regulators cited.
Latest Research Highlights
Worried about the newest safety reports on amiloride?
Recent UK and EU work from 2022–2025 has concentrated on safety surveillance and real‑world outcomes rather than large new randomised trials.
MHRA and EMA pharmacovigilance reviews flag hyperkalaemia as the principal safety signal with single‑agent amiloride and when combined with ACE inhibitors or ARBs.
Observational cohorts and primary‑care datasets show amiloride prescribed at stable, low rates as a single agent in the UK, with combination products used more often to prevent thiazide‑related hypokalaemia.
Yellow Card reports emphasise events related to renal function and elevated potassium rather than novel unexpected toxicities.
Regular blood‑test requirements are repeatedly highlighted as a cultural and adherence burden for elderly patients in the NHS.
Shared‑care monitoring in NHS clinics, community phlebotomy and pharmacist follow‑up are common practical responses to that burden.
Below is a concise summary table using available public‑registry information and safety themes; specific incidence figures are not specified in registry summaries.
| Study Type | Population | Key Outcome | Safety Rates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pharmacovigilance Reviews (MHRA/EMA) | National reporting databases | Hyperkalaemia main safety signal | Not specified |
| Observational Cohorts | Primary‑care patients on diuretics | Reduction in thiazide‑induced hypokalaemia when combined | Not specified |
| UK Primary Care Audits | GP prescribing records | Low single‑agent prescribing; combos more common | Not specified |
Safety Data Highlights: Hyperkalaemia is the principal concern; renal‑function related events appear frequently in Yellow Card reports and require baseline and ongoing U&Es.
Clinical Effectiveness In The UK
Are patients likely to avoid low potassium when started on amiloride?
UK and EU observational evidence from 2022–2025 consistently shows amiloride prevents diuretic‑induced hypokalaemia, particularly when added to thiazide therapy.
Combination regimens reduce the need for separate potassium supplements in many patients, which NHS patients often value.
Efficacy signals are strongest in targeted groups such as people with saline‑retaining oedema or resistant oedema related to heart failure.
There are no modern large randomised controlled trials demonstrating a hard mortality benefit for amiloride versus alternatives within the same timeframe.
Outcome metrics commonly used in audits include change in serum potassium, oedema grade and blood pressure change.
Typical metrics recorded in NHS practice are: K+ change from baseline, clinical oedema response and systolic/diastolic BP shifts; specific audit numbers are not specified in registry summaries.
Many UK patients report reassurance from pharmacy counselling at high‑street chains and expect a monitoring plan recorded in GP notes and accessible via the NHS app.
Indications And Expanded Uses
What is amiloride licensed to treat and when is it used off‑label?
MHRA product information lists amiloride as a prescription‑only diuretic for oedema and as adjunct diuretic therapy.
UK primary‑care guidance commonly favours amiloride to counteract thiazide‑induced hypokalaemia and for refractory oedema in heart failure under specialist oversight.
Rare disease case series support specialist use in Liddle’s syndrome and certain renal tubular disorders, but this remains off‑label and usually consultant‑led.
Off‑label prescribing in the NHS is documented with shared‑care letters and explicit consent, and GPs generally do not initiate specialist uses without consultant guidance.
Typical starting regimens are 5–10 mg once daily with maximums noted in product information and specialist guidance; exact individual doses depend on indication and renal function.
The table below contrasts MHRA‑approved indications with common off‑label specialist uses; specific regulatory notes and patient‑level details are not specified beyond the MHRA listing.
| MHRA‑Approved Indication | Off‑Label / Specialist Use |
|---|---|
| Oedema; adjunct diuretic therapy | Liddle’s syndrome; selected renal tubular disorders (specialist‑led) |
Composition And Brand Landscape
How will patients recognise amiloride at the pharmacy?
Most amiloride in the UK is sold as single‑ingredient 5 mg tablets, often labelled as Amiloride Hydrochloride and supplied in 28 or 56 tablet packs.
Combination products containing a thiazide remain common across antihypertensive formularies and are widely used to reduce thiazide‑induced potassium loss.
UK market manufacturers listed include Mylan, Teva and Bristol Labs, reflecting a largely generic, low‑cost supply environment.
Patients often receive the generic INN name on the label rather than a brand name, and pharmacists commonly explain the difference when switching generics to reduce confusion.
Sample brand list (UK): Amiloride Hydrochloride by Mylan, Teva, Bristol Labs.
Definition list for clarity: INN means International Nonproprietary Name; Generic means the non‑branded active ingredient; Combination Product refers to amiloride paired with a thiazide such as hydrochlorothiazide.
Contraindications And Special Precautions
Who must not take amiloride and who needs extra checks?
Absolute contraindications include known hypersensitivity, anuria, acute or chronic severe renal impairment, Addison’s disease and baseline potassium greater than 5.5 mmol/L.
Relative contraindications requiring close monitoring include mild to moderate renal dysfunction, diabetes mellitus, hepatic dysfunction and advanced age.
Post‑marketing surveillance and Yellow Card reporting underline increased hyperkalaemia risk when amiloride is combined with ACE inhibitors or ARBs, and in diabetics with impaired renal function.
UK clinicians routinely check baseline U&Es and eGFR before initiation and arrange frequent early monitoring thereafter.
Elderly patients typically start at lower doses and have closer follow‑up due to higher susceptibility to electrolyte disturbances.
Driving and alcohol advice is pragmatic: there is no blanket driving ban, but patients should be warned about dizziness and advised to avoid driving if symptomatic.
Pregnancy and breastfeeding use is generally avoided without specialist input and documented risk–benefit discussion.
Data Highlight: Hyperkalaemia is the most commonly reported serious adverse event; numerical incidence is not specified in public registry summaries.
Dosage Guidelines
What starting dose should a patient expect and how is monitoring scheduled?
NHS formularies and product information recommend starting amiloride at 5 mg once daily for most adults, with some regimens offering 5–10 mg daily depending on response.
For congestive heart failure, doses can be titrated cautiously up to 20 mg per day in divided doses under close monitoring.
When combined with a thiazide, a common approach is to start 5 mg amiloride alongside the standard thiazide dose such as hydrochlorothiazide 50 mg where appropriate.
Typical monitoring schedule recorded in GP records is baseline U&Es, repeat at 1–2 weeks, again at 1 month and at 3 months, then periodically as indicated by renal function and comorbidity.
Elderly patients and those with reduced eGFR receive conservative dosing and more frequent checks.
Children under 18 are not routinely recommended for amiloride treatment and paediatric dosing is specialist‑determined.
Missed doses should be taken as soon as remembered unless close to the next dose, and overdose requires urgent medical attention for possible hyperkalaemia and cardiac effects.
Interactions Overview
Which medicines raise the biggest safety flags with amiloride?
Pharmacodynamic interactions are the chief concern: ACE inhibitors, ARBs, potassium supplements and other potassium‑sparing agents markedly increase the risk of hyperkalaemia.
Aldosterone antagonists such as spironolactone or eplerenone also raise potassium risk if co‑prescribed and generally require specialist oversight.
NSAIDs can reduce renal perfusion and precipitate adverse renal and electrolyte events when combined with diuretics, and appear frequently in MHRA safety communications.
Yellow Card reports commonly list interaction‑related hyperkalaemia rather than novel pharmacokinetic interactions.
UK pharmacists routinely check electronic prescriptions and counsel patients on avoiding over‑the‑counter NSAIDs and potassium‑containing salt substitutes without checking with their GP or pharmacist.
Dietary interactions are limited, but large unsupervised changes to potassium intake should prompt a blood test.
Practical advice for patients: bring a full medication list to every pharmacy consultation and review OTC use with the pharmacist at high‑street chains.
Cultural Perceptions And Patient Habits
What do patients in the UK really worry about with amiloride?
Qualitative sources and forum discussions show top concerns are the frequency of blood tests, fear of high potassium and confusion when brands change at the pharmacy.
Many patients report greater confidence after pharmacist counselling at Boots or LloydsPharmacy and expect a clear monitoring timetable from their GP.
Use of the NHS app to view blood results and electronic prescriptions is common and supports adherence for digitally engaged patients.
Regional variations affect expectations: patients in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland may not face prescription charges and therefore behave differently around private purchase.
Common patient habit is to ask for printed information about off‑label use or the rationale for specialist prescribing when Liddle’s syndrome or rare renal disorders are involved.
Sample pharmacist Q&A: “Why do I need blood tests?” — to check potassium and kidney function; “Can I stop once I feel better?” — only under GP advice.
Availability And Pricing Patterns
Where can amiloride be bought and how much does it cost on prescription?
Generic amiloride 5 mg tablets are widely available across UK community chains and online pharmacies, typically in 28 or 56 tablet packs from Mylan, Teva and Bristol.
Combination products remain listed on many antihypertensive formularies and are supplied where clinically indicated.
NHS prescription charging varies: patients in England may face per‑item charges while Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland have different arrangements affecting private purchase behaviour.
Boots, LloydsPharmacy and Superdrug commonly stock generics and offer in‑pharmacy consultations, while online pharmacies fulfil via electronic prescription services.
Some patients prefer private purchase to request a specific brand or to avoid waits, and pharmacists can advise on cost‑effective generics and repeat dispensing options.
Typical pack sizes in the UK are 28 or 56 tablets; exact private‑purchase pricing is not specified in the supplied registry data.
In our online pharmacy, amiloride is available without a prescription, with discreet delivery to United Kingdom in 9-21 days.
Comparable Medicines And Preferences
How does amiloride compare with other potassium‑sparing options?
Amiloride sits in the same ENaC class as triamterene and is distinct in mechanism from aldosterone antagonists such as spironolactone and eplerenone.
Compared with spironolactone, amiloride tends to avoid endocrine side effects such as gynaecomastia and sexual dysfunction, though it may be less potent in aldosterone‑mediated conditions.
Triamterene is a close alternative mechanistically, while spironolactone is favoured in heart‑failure management where outcome data support its use.
Clinicians choose based on comorbidity: amiloride is selected to prevent thiazide‑related hypokalaemia or when spironolactone is contraindicated.
Monitoring intensity is similar across potassium‑sparing agents, centred on potassium and renal function checks.
Generics availability and cost play a role in NHS formulary decisions; amiloride’s generic supply from multiple manufacturers supports formulary inclusion for specific indications.
Pros and cons checklist for clinicians: mechanism, potassium effect, monitoring needs and side‑effect profile should guide choice.
Frequently Asked Questions
- Can I take amiloride with ACE inhibitors or ARBs?
Combination raises hyperkalaemia risk and should only be used with specialist oversight and strict monitoring.
- How often are blood tests needed?
Baseline U&Es are required, with an early check within 1–2 weeks after starting or changing dose, then at 1 month and 3 months and thereafter as indicated by renal function.
- Can I stop suddenly?
Do not stop without GP advice; sudden cessation may change fluid balance and blood pressure and should be managed by the prescriber.
- Is it safe in pregnancy?
Generally avoided in pregnancy and breastfeeding; specialist obstetric advice is required for individual risk‑benefit assessment.
Legal status reminder: Amiloride is a prescription medicine (POM) in the UK and urgent symptoms such as muscle weakness or palpitations require prompt medical contact via GP or NHS 111.
Guidelines For Proper Use
What should pharmacists check and tell patients before dispensing amiloride?
Confirm baseline renal function and serum potassium (eGFR and U&Es) before initiation and document a monitoring schedule in the patient record.
Ask about all current medicines including OTC NSAIDs and potassium supplements, and instruct patients to bring a full list to pharmacy consultations.
Explain the signs of hyperkalaemia clearly: muscle weakness, palpitations and unexplained fatigue should prompt urgent contact with GP or NHS 111.
Provide stepwise patient instructions: usual dose, what to do if a dose is missed, and when to seek urgent care for symptoms suggestive of electrolyte disturbance.
Use the NHS app or practice phone messaging to remind patients of blood tests and to share results when available.
Pharmacists should document counselling on interactions with ACE inhibitors, ARBs and potassium supplements and flag the need for early post‑initiation U&Es.
Definition list of monitoring terms: U&Es = urea and electrolytes; eGFR = estimated glomerular filtration rate.
For practical leaflets include contact points: GP surgery, NHS 111 and the dispensing pharmacy for routine queries.
Delivery Across United Kingdom
| City | Region | Delivery Time |
|---|---|---|
| London | England | 9-14 days |
| Birmingham | England | 9-14 days |
| Manchester | England | 9-14 days |
| Glasgow | Scotland | 9-14 days |
| Liverpool | England | 9-14 days |
| Leeds | England | 9-14 days |
| Sheffield | England | 9-14 days |
| Bristol | England | 9-14 days |
| Edinburgh | Scotland | 9-14 days |
| Cardiff | Wales | 9-14 days |
| Belfast | Northern Ireland | 9-14 days |
| Nottingham | England | 14-21 days |
| Leicester | England | 14-21 days |
| Plymouth | England | 14-21 days |